Derby could still be RELEGATED from Championship after EFL win appeal against FFP rule breach

2000 Chesterfield deducted nine points for financial irregularities — including not paying transfer fees and under-reporting gate receipts.

2002 Boston United deducted four points for misleading FA over player wages.

2004 Cambridge become the first of 16 clubs to be deducted 10 points for entering administration: Wrexham (2004), Boston (2006), Rotherham (2006 and 2007), Leeds (2006), Luton, Bournemouth (both 2007), Darlington, Stockport (both 2008), Southampton, Crystal Palace (both 2009), Plymouth (2010), Port Vale, Portsmouth (both 2011), Aldershot and Coventry (both 2012).

2007 Leeds are the first club to be docked points (15) for leaving administration without a Company Voluntary Agreement.

2008 Three League Two clubs are fined for breaching the same EFL requirement. Bournemouth and Rotherham are each fined 17 points and Luton lose 20 points. They are later docked a further 10 points.

2009 Portsmouth are the first Premier League side to lose points (nine) for entering administration. They’re given a 10-point deduction in the 2011-12 season and in 2012-13 are docked another 10 for leaving administration without a CVA. They are relegated to League Two that season.

2019 Birmingham are the first club to fall foul of the EFL’s profit and sustainability rules for breaching the maximum rolling three-year loss of £39million.

2019 Bury are deducted 12 points for arranging a CVA to ensure payment of the club’s creditors. Membership of the Football League is later withdrawn.

2019 Bolton are docked 12 points for entering administration — the new penalty. Wigan get the same in 2020.

2019 Macclesfield are deducted 17 points for various breaches including postponements following player strikes over non-payment of wages.

2020 Sheffield Wednesday are docked 12 points for breaching FFP rules by overspending, despite selling Hillsborough to owner Dejphon Chansiri for £60m. It’s reduced to six points on appeal but Owls are relegated to League One.